By Mario Murillo

Thomas Jefferson said, “in matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock.”

America has changed so fast that many believers wonder if they should change with the times.  Indeed, some of our most famous Pastors have stunned the faithful by saying that they now endorse gay marriage and openly state that the Bible is wrong about hell.

There is a phrase that echoes in my spirit, “either it is always true or it was never true.”  Truth has a stubborn way of staying the same.  Righteousness is timeless.  It does not flex, bend, or twist in the wind of modern thought.  Likewise, love is unchangeable:  full of mercy but it cannot rejoice in a lie.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ cannot be stripped of any part of its message if it is to impart eternal life. The central place of signs and wonders wrought by the Holy Spirit also does not change.  Jesus irrevocably welded miracles to the preaching of the Gospel when He said, “these signs will follow those who believe.”


Either it was always true or it was never true. Here are examples of the timeless advice of the Bible for preachers today.

1. Integrity in the media:  Proverbs 25: 26 Like a muddied spring or a polluted well are the righteous who give way to the wicked.   This warns Pastors who suddenly lose their moral compass under the hot lights of a talk show studio. You must quote the Bible and be quick to answer questions about the Cross, hell, sin, marriage and repentance.  America needs to hear the truth… you can be poison instead of healing if you betray  your calling!

2. Changing because of the success of compromise.  It is easy for a preacher to envy the wealth and prestige of secular celebrities and media pastors who have built empires in the name of God.  Psalm 73:1 Truly God is good to Israel, To such as are pure in heart. 2 But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled; My steps had nearly slipped. 3 For I was envious of the boastful, When I saw the prosperity of the wicked.”

3. When you leave out truth from your sermon you are dooming the younger generation:  When the Psalmist realized how he was slipping because of envy he also saw that he could take down a generation with him.  Psalm 73:15 If I had said, “I will speak thus, “Behold, I would have been untrue to the generation of Your children.

4. Don’t make any decision until you see the Glory of God in prayer where you will get a true perspective.  Psalm 73: 16 When I thought how to understand this, It was too painful for me—17 Until I went into the sanctuary of God; Then I understood their end.

5.  Make sure your pulpit is selfless.  Preach what helps them not your career. Acts 20:20 how I kept back nothing that was helpful, but proclaimed it to you, and taught you publicly and from house to house.

Now some final advice for all of us:

Either it was always true or it was never true applies our hope:

Now some final advice for all of us:

If ever there were verses that were designed to encourage conviction and standing in times that screamed for panic or compromise it is these verses:

Psalm 62: 5-12  My soul, wait silently for God alone, For my expectation is from Him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved. 7 In God is my salvation and my glory; The rock of my strength, And my refuge, is in God. 8 Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah 9 Surely men of low degree are a vapor, Men of high degree are a lie; If they are weighed on the scales, They are altogether lighter than vapor. 10 Do not trust in oppression, Nor vainly hope in robbery; If riches increase, Do not set your heart on them. 11 God has spoken once, Twice I have heard this:That power belongs to God. 12 Also to You, O Lord, belongs mercy; For You render to each one according to his work.

I SHALL NOT BE MOVED! Either it is always true or it was never true that He will heal us, protect us, guide us, restore us, and multiply our giving.    Honesty, integrity, fidelity, faithfulness and purity are always valid or they were never valid.  Those who move away from the demands of the Bible will also lose the mighty results of obedience.  Standing like a rock on our principles will release God’s best!


Leave a Reply

