Why I Have Moved Out of the San Francisco Bay Area

 cow palace blog copy

Why I Moved Out of the San Francisco Bay Area.

By Mario Murillo

Something impossible has happened to me.  My closest friends never thought it could happen.  I have moved out of the San Francisco Bay Area. There was no version of my future that included leaving the San Francisco area.  Moving me out of here is like uprooting and transplanting an ancient redwood. Here’s why:

-San Francisco is infinitely more to me than a hometown.  San Francisco is my strange holy land.  My first and my deepest encounters with Christ and the supernatural were here.

-With the exception of just two years, I have never lived anywhere else but here.

-The most amazing prophetic promise I ever received is about San Francisco:  In 1978 I Told God that I quit.  God said, “Pray one more time.” An hour passed and suddenly God promised me “I will pour out of my Spirit on the San Francisco Bay Area and the world will look and wonder.” This promise made me angry!  I screamed to God, “I cannot carry this without an infallible confirmation right now!  As the word “now” came out of my mouth the phone beside me starting ringing.

Bob Dylan

It was the last voice in the world that I could have ever imagined to hear!  “Mario, this is Bob Dylan.”  He was calling because he was about to perform his first Christian concert at the Warfield Theater in San Francisco.  He asked me to come and pray backstage at the concert while he performed.  Just as we were about to hang up he asked me “Mario, did God tell you He was going to pour out His Spirit on the Bay Area?”  Losing my breath and about to faint I said, “Yes.”  To which he responded, “Well Mario, He is going to pour out His Spirit on San Francisco.”

-Through incomprehensible adversity, we obeyed God and stayed based in the Bay Area.  In obedience to that promise God used us to make Christian history culminating with 14,000 people in the Cow Palace Arena. 

Only one thing could ever make me move: The Holy Spirit told me and my wife to sell our home and relocate out of the Bay Area.  However He did not tell us where to move!

Our home sold in 28 days.  We had to scramble to move without knowing why or where.  It was not until just two weeks before we had to be out of our home that God made it absolutely clear where we belonged.

We made an offer on a house, raced back to the Bay Area and scrambled to find temporary housing for the 30 days it took for escrow to close.

Meanwhile the mighty outpouring of the Holy Spirit was flooding Los Banos California.  We concluded that we should find an extended stay facility in Morgan Hill which was a central location to Los Banos and everything else we had to do in the Bay Area.

move quote

We moved into our new home.  So where is our new home?  We now live in Reno, Nevada. I can hear you repeating it out loud…Reno?!  Even as the furniture went into our house we were still asking that question!   Here are the answers:

  1. God told us we must move where we could fulfill our calling because America is running out of time. I believe that at the outside we have 5 years to turn this nation back from going off a cliff. Our assignment is to bring Living Proof to millions before it is too late.

Our headquarters must reflect both our boldness and our urgency…but why Reno?  We still did not know but some very savvy people did know…people who control billions of dollars and do the very best research…people who looked at California, Texas, New Mexico and Arizona.

Now here is something that truly boggles my mind: We moved into Reno at 3PM on Thursday, September 11, 2014.  Five hours later, after months of secret negotiations the Associated Press broke this story:  “Calling it one of the most important pieces of legislation in Nevada history, Gov. Brian Sandoval signed into law Thursday night an unprecedented package of incentives to seal a deal to bring Tesla Motors’ $5 billion battery factory to Reno, Nevada.

The “gigafactory” is expected to bring more than 20,000 jobs and $100 billion to Nevada’s economy over the next 20 years. It will be the biggest lithium battery factory in the world.”  

Tesla battery gigafactory Nevada

BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE!  Apple Computers made this announcement:  “The Company will invest $1 billion over 10 years to build a center at a new technology park near Reno, Nevada. The data center project is part of a development plan in which the company will also build a purchasing center in downtown Reno. An Apple spokesman told local officials that the company expected the new facility at the Reno Technology Park to come online later this year.”

On October 4th I stood in front thousands of Students at U.C. Berkeley for a triple defining moment for me.  It was the Jewish Day of Atonement; it was the 50th anniversary of the Free Speech Movement at Berkeley; it was the 50th anniversary of my conversion to Christ.

Berkeley blog two

It was also something else; it was a time of emotional closure between me and the Bay Area.  Of course I will still contend for revival here and work with anyone who wants to win souls here.  But I was released from a Bay Area covenant.

Alone in prayer I grieved and mourned for a season that had passed.  Then God told me something tragic.  But before I tell you what He said let me remind you of something.  Over the years, we have been threatened and told to leave by the Black Panthers, the Weather Underground (who threatened to bomb us), Satanists, drug dealers, a host of cults and anti-God politicians.  We just laughed at their threats!

Then a group of ministers in their own way basically asked me to leave the Bay Area.  I never gave it a second thought because who were they compared to these past threats?  That is when I heard the strangest thing that Jesus ever said to me… “Honor their request and leave.”   That is what it took to pull out the deepest roots and allow me to relocate to Reno.  I have not a drop of anger, unforgiveness or malice.  You will never hear me name names or defend myself. I am far too excited about the future!  I am free now to build a great vision for a nation that must be saved!




new signature

10 thoughts on “Why I Have Moved Out of the San Francisco Bay Area

  1. My wife Glenda and I Were there at Los Banos in September 6-7. We came in from Sun Lakes AZ. Or South Chandler AZ. Well What a wonderful GOD he is so loving and forgiving. We want to welcome you here to AZ. Before you arrive. So when you arrive we will know it was an answer to prayer. We became partners and will help in any way we can. I know the road is long and tedious. In my previous life I have been there musically speaking. Mario we pray for you whenever the spirit moves. A million and one thing to pray for. But we have a big God. Blessings to you and your new home.
    Mario murillo as Philip of old was transported to different parts of the country I’m believing that before to long you and men like minded of today will also be immediately transported due to the urgency of the call.
    Steve and Glenda Ellison

    1. ]And Philip said, If you believe with all your heart [if you have [l]a conviction, full of joyful trust, that Jesus is the Messiah and accept Him as the Author of your salvation in the kingdom of God, giving Him your obedience, then] you may. And he replied, I do believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.
      38 And he ordered that the chariot be stopped; and both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water, and [Philip] baptized him.
      39 And when they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord [[m]suddenly] caught away Philip; and the eunuch saw him no more, and he went on his way rejoicing.
      40 But Philip was found at Azotus, and passing on he preached the good news (Gospel) to all the towns until he reached Caesarea.

  2. Mario, it has been so good to sit under your Ministry and learn the good things of God. I know that I speak for Debbie as well as myself, we have thrived and grown to be mature in the environment of your Leadership from the School of Ministry to every Friday night service at the ARC. Thank for the opportunity to serve at the church and to be a part of the Mighty move of the Lord in the Bay Area.

    I constantly pray for you, the Ministry, Mechelle, and your team (Joshua & Elijah) and hope some day to see you again so we can kick the devils teeth in.

    God Bless You my Friend I send our Love and our deepest respect to you and Mechelle.

    Be prosperous and blessed in your new adventure.


    Joel & Debbie Burrow

  3. I cried reading this news Mario. But I know you hear from the Lord-loud and clear so I am both happy and excited for MMM. We will miss you and Mechelle so very much! You were such a blessing to us both. No words can express how fortunate we felt to be be a part of the ARC. We love you two very much! We will keep you in our prayers and I know that we will see you again…until then God bless you and hugs from Freddie and I both.

  4. Awesome Mario you’ve done a full circle around the mountain it’s time for you to enter the promised land an get your inheritance. May your end be greater than your beginning love you & Michelle.

  5. I had a dream, when I lived in the Bay Area at the time of the last big earthquake in 1989, that the next big one would break off the defiant fist, that San Francisco has raised against the LORD, at the wrist. I saw the Pacific Ocean swallow up the Bay, and Oakland being on the coast, because San Francisco was no more. That could possibly be another reason for God directing you to move, brother Mario!

  6. I know God will give you WAY more than what you are leaving, and your faithfulness will be well rewarded – not only for you and your family but for ALL the Lord will bring to Himself through this move! Wow – that area will reap revivals in the business and personal sectors like they have never seen before, and just in time, with everything this world is going through right now and in the next few years! God bless you as you continue to trust and obey!
    P.S. Come back to Seattle, too, as soon as you can! It is in SUCH desperate straits spiritually!

  7. Thank you Mario for the tremendous blessing you have been to me and countless others here in the south bay area. Thank you for coming to S.C.U. and speaking there, a Jesuit stronghold of religion. I can think of no other meeting to go to in the bay area than one of your meetings where mind boggling healings, salvations, and prophecy/words from God come forth. Thank you for A.R.C. and the warm love of God always felt when arriving.
    Thank you for being available and always having an encouraging word. I will have to go to Reno now, but God always makes a way. Be blessed and hope to visit soon.

Leave a Reply

