What It Means To Be a Policeman


As a part of our tribute to Police men and women everywhere we present this timeless video of Paul Harvey.

Mario Murillo Ministries dedicates this Christmas blog to the brave men and women in law enforcement.  Many of you will be unable to be with your family on Christmas because you will be on duty protecting our families.  You work long hours and receive very little thanks for the amazingly important job that you do. For that and a million other reasons we want to thank you and tell you that we will stand with you this Christmas and all year long.

We also pray for the families of those officers who made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty.  No words that any man can say will truly be able to comfort you.  Only God can do that.  We pray that the great comforter, the Holy Spirit will bring you special peace in your soul.  Again, God bless you all.

I am so grateful for the hundreds of thousands of God’s people who regularly read this blog. Take a moment and write a comment or a prayer for our heroes, our finest and their families.  People from all over the world will be able to see your comments and prayers.   God bless you and Merry Christmas.


In a related Story:  A national surge of support for the police.

tribute to police

After NYC Deaths, a Surge of Support for Police

 Rocker Jon Bon Jovi donned a New York Police Department T-shirt on stage. Well-wishers delivered home-baked cookies by the hundreds to police in Cincinnati. In Mooresville, North Carolina, police and sheriff’s officers were treated by residents to a chili dinner.

At a time when many in the nation’s police community feel embattled, Americans in cities and towns across the country are making an effort to express support and gratitude.

“I’m showing a little solidarity for my brothers in the NYPD and all of those who protect and serve us every day,” Bon Jovi told a cheering crowd at his concert Monday in Red Bank, New Jersey.

The surge of support is linked to two distinct but overlapping developments.

The immediate catalyst was the killings of two New York City police officers as they sat in their patrol car in Brooklyn on Saturday. For many of those making appreciative gestures, there also was a desire to counter the widespread protests ? steeped with criticism of police ? that followed grand jury decisions not to charge white officers for their roles in the deaths of black men Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, and Eric Garner in New York.

Becky Grizovic, of Walton, Kentucky, helps orchestrate a campaign called Cookies for a Cop that provides treats to officers in more than 200 departments in 23 states. She was joined by her husband, son and a neighbor in delivering cookies to Cincinnati police stations on Monday.

At the District 2 station house, Capt. Jeffrey Butler said the gesture was especially appreciated in light of the deaths of the two officers in New York.

“The reason that this started is that I’ve just been so disheartened by the news,” Grizovic said in a phone interview. “I wanted to do something positive to lift their spirits because this is so hard on all of them.”

Rallies and vigils in support of police have taken place recently in several locations, including Nashville, Tennessee; West Orange, New Jersey; Annapolis, Maryland, and New York City’s Riverdale neighborhood.

Among those gathering Monday night in Nashville was Merri Puckett, a retired police officer.

“The police are really taking a hard hit right now,” she told The Tennessean newspaper. “Ninety-nine percent of the officers out there are doing a good job, and it’s a thankless job and they need to know that the public supports them.”

In Minden, Nevada, there was a one-man rally in support of local officers.

John Munk, a retired sheriff’s deputy, stood in front of the post office with a sign reading, “God Bless Law Enforcement.”

“It’s disheartening how people are treating law enforcement across the country,” Munk told the Record-Courier of nearby Gardnerville. “I wanted to do this to show what a great community we have here.”

Another former officer, Rick Goforth, was the chef and organizer for Monday night’s dinner in Mooresville, North Carolina, for which he served up 30 quarts of chili.

“I told the chief … loosen your gun belt, man,” Goforth joked with a reporter from Charlotte’s WCNC-TV.

The police chief, Carl Robbins, said it’s been a difficult time for officers, particularly after the two deaths in New York.

In New York’s bustling Times Square, several officers reported that people on the street were shouting out words of encouragement ? a sound they weren’t hearing before the weekend killings.

“It’s uplifting,” said one officer, who ? under NYPD rules ? was not supposed to do media interviews while on street duty.

4 thoughts on “What It Means To Be a Policeman

  1. I am 66 years old and I grew up with a dad that was a police officer. We were proud of him but we also were taught that when he walked out the door each day that he might not come home again. I am grateful to my dad for all he did, I saw our living room full of toys at Christmas that was collected for those less fortunate. I saw my dad and mom box all our dishes and flat wear to give to a needy family. I saw my mom take children of other officers to buy Easter outfits with us. I saw clothes removed from our closets and was told there were children that had nothing because they had been found on the streets with the only clothes on their backs and we could get more. I saw my dad reach in his wallet and give money to someone else in need. I saw my dad run to the aid of another. I saw my dads torn and bloody shirt in a sink after what was supposed to be an evening out with my mom for dinner. I sat on the lap of a truly great dad and felt his strong arms around me. I remember the words when he said to me as a grown women, “As long as I am alive nothing will ever hurt you”. I also watched as people hated my dad for the badge he stood for. I was spit on as a child and bullied because I was a “Cops” daughter. I learned how cruel kids can be but also that they learned it from their parents. My dad often told us that to be a police officer you had to be half nuts, and perhaps that was true. I can truly say it taught his children, respect for authority, respect for guns, respect for others less fortunate. To help at any
    time and for any reason when you saw a need. It taught me that even with horrible things in life, we can rise above it. As for my dad, I learned a Father’s Love. He pointed me to a Savior that would always care for me. He showed me the love of someone willing to die for another and what counting the cost of something meant. Yes, I was raised in a “COPS” home and I admire and appreciate every law enforcement and military person for their service and sacrifice. The sad thing is unless you have walked in the shoes of being in a family like that you can’t appreciate all the benefits and Blessings that come along with it. Mario Thank you once again for this Blog……My dad died in 1989 at 82 and he left a legacy in my family.. I miss him.

  2. The men and women of our law enforcement community are actually answering and fulfilling a God given calling to ensure the peace of our cities, towns and homes.
    May God bless and protect those who have answered the call to protect, serve and defend

Leave a Reply

