Here’s what happened in Bakersfield

90% of those who needed Christ came forward—including one a family waited 27 years to be saved.  Those are staggering facts.  We are taught this is all that matters, so therefore, the event was a success.  But last night taught us something else…it was the most brutal wake up call we have gotten in 20 years.

Here’s what happened in Bakersfield

By Mario Murillo

90% of those who needed Christ came forward—including one a family waited 27 years to be saved.  Those are staggering facts.  We are taught this is all that matters, so therefore, the event was a success.  But last night taught us something else…it was the most brutal wake up call we have gotten in 20 years.
Paul once made this dramatic confession: “Therefore we wanted to come to you—even I, Paul, time and again—but Satan hindered us. -1 Thessalonians 2:18 He actually admitted that in this particular battle—Satan stopped them.  Last night we were stopped.  It was a major shock because we were spoiled by a long run of full houses and overflowing altars.
It is almost mandatory for evangelists to give only glowing reports.  There is overwhelming pressure to justify their appeal for funds with photos of masses of people. Some of that pressure is justified because we are stewards of people’s hard-earned money.  Some of it is foolish because it denies that we are in a war.
But what do you do when the news is not good?  Do you gloss it over?  Do you ignore it and move on?  I choose to hit it head on.
It would be ridiculous to sugar coat last night in a blog notorious for telling the truth.  When it was dangerous to rebuke Obama we did it repeatedly.  When we saw burning issues in the church we nailed them to the wall.  So it is time to take some of my own medicine.
Last night was poorly attended for many reasons—reasons that we must face or fold our tent. America has radically changed.  The church has radically changed.  We must adjust or face the fate of dinosaurs.  So what exactly do I mean?  Here are the facts:
California’s inner cities are now openly hostile to soul-winning.  The old code of honor and respect for faith is dead.  Two highly visible attacks on ministers flood the news:
-Herbert Valero, the 68-year-old pastor of Victory Outreach Church in Salinas, went outside his house to pray with Servando Ayala Silva, a 37-year-old man who took a sheet rock saw blade and cut the pastor’s throat.  He died in front of his wife and children.
-Rudy Trujillo, the pastor of Faith Center in San Fernando, assaulted Wednesday morning was hospitalized and recovering from a broken hip and other injuries after he was beaten.
Gangs see salvations as a threat to drug sales.  They will intimidate those who preach and those who come to hear them.  Fear grips communities.  We failed to see this. God has to teach us to overcome boycotts by gangs.
I also failed to obey a lessen from the Holy Spirit.  We should not have delegated the advertising and the ground game of this outreach.  A central key to our Living Proof Crusades is new ways of getting people to bring people to outreaches.  We must also take control of everything that happens during the crusade…this became painfully clear in Bakersfield.
Finally, we must unravel the mystery of millennials.  They are glued to their cell phone screens and live a life that is unlike anything humanity has ever seen.  They are our next crash course.
Some say that I am overreacting to a Friday night in Bakersfield and may see a major turnaround tonight. That would be a highly unlikely but welcome outcome.  Stay tuned
Finally, my great hope is the Holy Spirit.  This is His expertise.  He once led me to the violent intellectual campus at Berkeley with nothing but the clothes on my back. It was a challenge beyond words. I was beyond ill-equipped.  That is the situation I find myself in today.
I am asking for forgiveness from our faithful partners for losing an important battle.  I can only ask that you bear with me and consider our history:  We will never lie to you and we will never surrender to Satan.  Psalm 108:13 says, “Through God we will do valiantly, for it is He who shall tread down our enemies.

12 thoughts on “Here’s what happened in Bakersfield

  1. Praying for tonight to be a Holy Ghist dynamite explosion that will penetrate the darkness and demoralize and devastate the thwarting attempts of the enemy to reduce his agenda to ashes…GOD is greater than all those sabotaging attempts…I pray TV interview be brought to you and that local ministries will pick up the watchmen on the wall responsibility of getting the word out and gathering the lost in Jesus Name

  2. God bless you Mario. Thank you for total honesty. We desperately need to call all Christians world wide to some set days on humbling ourselves with fasting and prayers, yielding every part of ourselves to the mercy and Fire of God. This is a must, if we want to see a mighty move of God. It’s the only way we will be able to step into God, and bring forth His Kingdom to the now generation. We can do this!!

    Kitty

  3. I am and have been praying from Atlanta. I am asking God for HIS strategies to be poured out on you and the team. I hear the word STAND in my spirit. My head is throbbing which is my indicator of the immense evil that souls have given over to. I declare tge breaker anointing over this. I declare that the soil is being broken up right now. I declare suddenlies. I declare miracles to occurs that break the barriers. I call forth so many angels that they are seen to the unsaved eye. I ask Jesus to come to the people. I decree and declare that this territory is yours for the kingdom of God. I ask God to honor your transparency and truth with a ripple effect of people being set free from now til Jesus comes back. Obstruct and confuse the camp of the enemy oh Lord. Give the gangs the fear of God and all that is holy be respected. I hear the sound of the ground breaking.

  4. Mario, we believe in you– Who you are in God and who our great God is in you! Your transparency is rare and refreshing! A little over 30 years ago in a church in Edison New Jersey you shared your Berkeley experience and what God was doing through your Crusades. You prophesied about a Lazarus generation and we’ve seen some of the harvest from that. I believe the seeds that you sowed and the life that you laid down for Jesus contributed to the revival among millennial’s that we see manifested at Bethel Redding and other places around the globe. Keep going-don’t stop! Learn the lessons and follow Holy Spirit’s strategy.

  5. I agree with the prayer of Sandra. I am praying for a mighty move of Holy Ghost for tonight. Thank you for your faithfulness in preaching God’s Word. To Him be the glory for the things He has done.

  6. Mario and friends: You are not giving up ,so you did not lose.I was at a meeting of yours in 1983 in S.J that in boxing terms was about the second round and You were winning,so what if the fifth round went badly like our friend Paul I add my faith to yours that the next round will be successful. I trust you have read the end of the book and we win.I stole that from Derrick Floyd and remind everyone as often as possible.To God be the glory.
    Patrick

  7. God has so mightily blessed you, Mario Murillo. He chose you to lead this charge. Yes, this charge. The first night was to familiarize you with the exact enemy you’re dealing with. And from what you said, you have sized up the enemy, so now you have to pick your ammunition and artillery and reload. It’s 11:00 on the East Coast as I write this with a knowing in my spirit that these words are not just my imagination but a picture of the situation in the spirit. I would love to be there to see the Holy Spirit move in your service tonight. All you need do to win this battle is to listen to what the Holy Spirit is saying. Satan will throw everything he has to distract you and make it extremely difficult for you to hear. God chose you for this battle because he knows you will break through the clamor and hear with spiritual clarity.
    “Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, and he will show him even greater works than these, so that you will be amazed.”
    ‭‭John‬ ‭5:19-20‬ ‭NIV‬‬
    http://bible.com/111/jhn.5.19-20.niv

  8. U have the leading of the Holy Spirit. We saw mighty miracles at Branson despite the opposition.
    U gave us hope and unmasked fear that was prevalent in the area.
    Same old ugly spirit now
    Speak life and faith confessions for the remainder of the meetings.
    Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things not seen.
    Mark 11:22-24- if u believe and don’t doubt , speak to the mountain and it will be removed, and whatsoever u SAY u will have…
    Just em want to encourage u
    U gave us hope in Branson when there was none.
    Now I hope the Word strengthens u to speak to the enemy before the meeting
    I am for u as well
    Gods angels of protection b around you and a manifestation of fire protect u from evil.
    Remember the enemy retreated long ago when mighty warring angels scared them
    Same thing can happen today
    🙏

  9. Agree with everyone and yet my spirit goes in another direction. The High School setting itself sets the milleneal community in a tizzy. These kids and their parents are well trained in the false, so called, ” separation of church and state”. I’m 65, but still have a kid in a CA public school and I am reminded daily of their anti-Christian phobia attitudes. “Christian Evangelist comes to Bakersfield High”! Yesh, right. There is perhaps a stronghold of fear and peer pressure surrounding this area. Principalities and Rulers of darkness seem to be clouding the hearts and minds. I say continue on in Jesus Name, but move outside the public school.

  10. Thank you Mario I was in the audience..when you evangelize over me with my leg everything. .I recieved healing on the name of Jesus my friend standing next to me felt the Holy Spirits presence,, and could not stop the tears ..God is good i started watchong you in the 80..believed your words of Jesus healing and I still do..thank you and God continue to use you in migjty healing ways Amen.

Leave a Reply

